I believe the GPSTrak should work regardless of whether the user closes the app on their device. Having an employee easily be able to disable their tracking by closing the application makes it too easy for them to circumvent an important feature of this software.
Hi all, we are always working to improve the GPS functionality and close any holes that are being exploited. This is not something that is that easy to do with the way the devices work and the limitations imposed by the Android and iOS operating systems. We do expect that we will keep making improvements and are working on that always. There is also a degree of employee education involved and at times when employees are doing the wrong thing they will need to be talked to. Please feel free to share any additional concerns and we will keep working to deliver the best GPS experience possible.
Frank Cuevas commented
As the Vice President of Operations this is one of the most frustrating topics! My Team and I are currently looking for another Product that will be more accurate and difficult to not be tracked! almost half of my employees our office cannot track, therefore we are ready to pull the plug and end our business relationship with ClockShark unless the owner of the company reaches out to me and helps to solve this problem .
Loomis Companies Construction
Jerold Zwas commented
If employees turn off their phone they are not clocked out and no GPS Tracking. Also no way to know that the phone is off unless you go through GPS Track.
The app should notify or indicate phone was turned off or any large gap in GPS Pings. Also an option to clock them out if phone is turned off.
yes if they disable there gps and its enabled as part as employee requirements when building a new employee if they turn off there location services they automatically get clocked out this has been issues with a coupe employees but after informing them their trucks also have gps its more a redundant system then anything and company phones also have find my phone which can be tracked
Mandy James commented
If the location setting is on, even if the app is closed, the GPS is still running. I kill my apps and I'm still being tracked while clocked in. That's why I love this app, it doesn't stop running until you clock out.
Now, I have had employees phone's die and have had a few take location off while on the clock...this will lead to not knowing where they are. Clock shark clocked the employees out after awhile. I'd call them to confirm what you can do to ensure your employees are using the app correctly. I had to give mine a little "mini session" of things to do and not to do. Hope this helps.